Archive by Author

Aoraki Regatta

16 Nov

Our junior girls attended the Aoraki regatta last month – the first regatta of the season.  It is held over 1000 metres and it is aimed at new rowers as an introduction to racing.   It was a great experience for them.  We look forward to seeing more racing from our younger members later this season.

Junior Girls and Dave

Jordan Fox  , Zhane Skipper  , Bridget O’Brien  , Fiona Murray  , Annabel Fairbairn  , Peta McKay  – new novice girls with  Greer Porter  , Milly Van Dam , Samantha Garrick , Erica Ayres and Coach David Ayres

Results of the R2K and Inter provincials

22 Oct

Riley Bruce skulled the fastest time of the day in the under 18 singles at R2K earlier this month.  Nice work Riley.

The Inter provincials were held on the same weekend.  This regatta is an event held between top rowers in Southland, Canterbury and Otago.  Riley Bruce and Riley Homan represented Otago in the Under 20 Quad and the Under 20 Doubles.  The quads won and the doubles came second.

Well done you two!!

New Zealand Masters Champs results

1 Oct

Our club sent its biggest crew ever to the Champs with fantastic results.  They included:

Pip Ewing,  Amanda Inkster, Joukje Siebenga and Jill Austin won the Women’s B coxless Four.

Pip Ewing, Shane Gibson, Joukje Siebenga and AJ Humphreys won the Mixed B Quad.

Amanda Inkster, Joukje Siebenga and Jacquie Van Dam where part of the South Island Eight which beat the North Island Eight for the 3rd year running in the inter-island race.

Pip Ewing and Jill Austin won silver in the Women B coxless pair.

Pip Ewing and Shane Gibson won bronze in the Mixed B coolest pair.

Amanda Inkster, Jacquie Van Dam, Joukje Sibenga and Helen Wightman won bronze in the Women coxless quad.

Congratulations to you all.

%d bloggers like this: